God Is With You

God is with you – That is All You Need by Larry Libby

I love this book by Larry Libby. I wish it had been available when I was a child. I know I would have found comfort and hope in the midst of all the different changes and struggles of growing up between two cultures.

For ages 8 to 12, God is With You is a series 15 short “devotionals”, each one focusing on how God is with us when we face various struggles. For example, “When you’re facing a scary time, …” or When you’re feeling sad and all alone, …”. or one that many third culture kids can relate to “When your best friend moves away, …” or a great one for today’s pandemic situation “When you don’t know what’s ahead,…”

Each two page spread includes a heading “When…., Remember God is with you!”, a beautiful large illustration by Colbert Gauthier depicting bright and realistic scenes that children can relate to or find comfort from and either a remembrance from Larry’s childhood, a Bible story or a realistic story followed with encouraging verse and thoughts.

If you live overseas, this book would make a great read-aloud devotional – kind of like your kids getting to sit in grandpa’s lap and hearing him share stories and reminders of God’s presence and faithfulness.

I can’t recommend this book enough. Be sure to request it next time you place an order for books.

My favorite childhood verse

Leave a comment