My Song Is Beautiful

My Song is Beautiful – Poems & Pictures in Many Voices by Mary Ann Hoberman The collection of poems was published in 1994 and includes 14 poems by famous children’s authors.

Mary Ann Hoberman is an acclaimed author of over 40 children’s books. She has written both pictures books and poetry. In 2003, Hoberman was named the second US Children’s Poet Laureate by the Poetry Foundation and she served in that role from 2008 to 2011. In 2003, she also received the Award for Excellence in Poetry for Children. The Llama Who Has No Pajama is a collection of over one hundred of her poems. Other well-known and loved books by Hoberman include:

  •  The Seven Silly Eaters
  •  You Read to Me, I’ll Read to You series
  •  A House is a House for Me


Four things I love about this collection of poems:

  1.  multicultural and diverse perspective
  2.  Illustrations by a different illustrator with illustrations that highlight the culture of the poem and author
  3.  poems are easy to read and accessible to children ages 5 and up
  4.  Focus on self-esteem, self-acceptance and self-expression

“This outstanding multicultural anthology will introduce young readers to a generous range of artistic and literary styles.” Publishers Weekly

These fourteen poems by distinguish authors celebrate that which is special in all of us.” School Library Journal

Art work by elementary school students in Brooklyn, NY

You and I
Only one I in the whole wide world
And millions and millions of you,
But every you is an I to itself
And I am a you to you, too!

But if I am a you and you are an I
And the opposite also is true,
It makes us both the same somehow
Yet splits us each in two.

It’s more and more mysterious,
The more I think it through:
Every you everywhere in the world is an I;
Every I in the world is a you!

Poem by Mary Ann Hoberman

artwork by David Diaz

THE DRUM
daddy says the world is

a drum tight and hard

and I told him

i’m gonna beat

out my own rhythm
– Nikki Giovanni (1943)

 

Nikki Giovanni is one of the best-known African-American poets. Her poetry expresses strong racial pride and respect for family. In addition to her vast collection of poetry and books for children, she is the winner of the 2005 Caldecott Medal for Rosa.

 

Yoriko Ito

 

IN A HERMIT’S COTTAGE

 

In a hermit’s cottage, silent, still,

I sit all alone with nobody.

A white cloud dozes

To the strains of a quiet song.

 

No one can know

How happy I am!

 
– Kim Soo-Jang –  Translated by Virginia Olsen Baron

This poem is a Sijo poem, one of the earliest and most popular forms of Korean verse.

Leave a Reply

