May Flowers

April Showers Brings May Flowers – poetry Monday

Lena Anderson is a Swedish author and an illustrator of children’s and young adult books. Some of her most popular books translated from Swedish include Hedge Hog, Pig, and the Sweet Little Friend, Hedgehog’s Secret, Linnea in Monet’s Garden, Tick-Tock, Tea for Ten, Stina series and Bunny series. Her books of poetry include Anna’s Garden Songs and Anna’s Summer Songs. These two books of poetry are beautifully illustrated by Mary Q. Steele.

In Anna’s Summer Songs, the 14 poems celebrate trees, flowers, ferns and fruit. Anna, a blond, energetic and adventurous little girl with glasses frolics in the beauty of nature.

As the saying goes “April showers brings May flowers“. Here in Central Indiana, the flowers are bursting to life all around me – as I go out on my daily walk, the trees and the flowers are there to greet me – a reminder that God is one who delights in beautyI I hope that flowers are blooming wherever you may be.

Here are some flower poems for you and your children to enjoy. Lena Anderson’s book Anna’s Garden Songs is available to order if you love the poems below.

Iris

Now I’m dreaming

Iris dreams.

Green and yellow,

White and blue.

And while I’m dreaming

Iris dreams

Do iris dream

Of me and you?

Forget-Me-Not

Forget-me-nots

Have magic powers,

They make my rabbit

Dance for hours

On starlit nights.

He leaps and whirls

And jigs and jogs

And jumps and twirls.

He kick his ears.

I wish I heard

The tune he hears

For though I dance

With all my might

I never get

The steps quite right …

he says.

Poppy

A bright red poppy

Can make me feel happy

And hoppy.

Hop, hip, happy!

Hap, hip, hoppy!

Poppy!

Cornflower

I picked these cornflowers by the road.

Their petals are so blue.

They match the color of my eyes.

They match my ribbon too.

So many summer things are blue,

The sunny seas and skies

And cornflowers growing by the road…

And they all match my eyes!

Lavender

How Lavender loves heat and sun!

Its flowers are sweet to smell.

We dried the blooms and put them in

These little sacks to sell,

So people can on snowy nights

Remember summer’s smells and sights.

Leave a Reply

