Happy New Year!

  

Happy New Year!
I know, I know, 2016 is well under way, but I am just now digging myself out from under all the Christmas decorations. With college kids home for Christmas and a wedding (my brother’s daughter, Elizabeth – congratulations Lizzie and Luke) it was a busy but fun last month of reconnecting with family and friends.  

  

My mom, my three children Laura, Lindsay and Brian, my Dad (order in photo from left to right)

I’m now getting back into the swing of things with Kids Books Without Borders, with new inquiries and orders coming in.

  
In 2015, I sent out 3,014 books to over 30 families representing 36 different countries, including many countries in Africa, Europe, Asia, Central and South America and the Middle East.  

I’ve enjoyed getting to know new families this past year, their children’s interest and their love of reading. I love receiving your emails: “The books have arrived!”.  There are many book lovers out there and some great readers. And although, I have not met any of you, I have made many new friends and my life has been enriched.

I am also thankful for the many families in my community and church who have donated books. The Children’s ministry at my church has been sponsoring Kids Books Without Borders. They have collected books as well as donated money to help with shipping costs. I am grateful for everyone who has helped support and encouraged me in this ministry, including Christian authors who have donated books – Max Lucado, Lisa Tawn Bergren, Renee Taft Meloche, Dave and Neta Jackson, Janet & Geoff Benge. Thank you everyone!

  

My basement is overflowing with books right now. I have well over 5,000 books.

So, to all the overseas families out there, whether you are new to this website, or a returning book lover, I look forward to your emails and your book orders in the months to come.  

I also plan to add regular blog posts at this site – about favorite children’s books as well as new books that I am reading. I especially want to focus on books that resonate with third culture kids. I would love to hear your suggestions as well for topics and book lists that you would find helpful for selecting books for your children.

Enjoy this great poem by children’s author, Julia Donaldson.  

  

2 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. Happy New Year to you Gail! (La multi ani, as they say in Romania, and still say on Jan. 21, when seeing a friend for the first time in the new year.) You were one of our biggest gratitudes of 2015, and we look forward to continuing to get to know you in 2016. We’ve sent our Christmas card, it’s on its way. We love you and thank you for your expertise, passion, generosity! God bless you and yours.

    Like

    • Thanks, Brandi. Your ministry and your library project in Romania is awesome. I enjoy our chats via email and our sharing of books. If Tim ever gives a philosophy talk in Romania, I will join him and we can actually visit in person!

      Like

Leave a Reply

